Political Remix

Dear Class,

Here is a link to my remix: http://www.steph.composingdigitalmedia.org/students_2012/danalayne/remix.html

I hope you all enjoy it!  I made it to go along with the work I’m doing for my independent project.

 

9 Comments on “Political Remix”

  1. codirae325 says:

    The somewhat happy tone of music puts an interesting twist on the “risky” clips we’re watching. The scene with the homeland security color code seems a bit choppy at the beginning (perhaps an extra tiny tiny milli-second of the clip before, if that makes sense). See if you can smoothen that out a little.

  2. sceraso says:

    Dana–I love that this intertwined with your indie project. Great reuse of old footage as a way to comment on a modern theme. My biggest suggestion would be to go through and check volume levels. Sometimes when there is speech and music at the same time, it’s hard to hear the speech (this is particularly apparent in the first half of the video during the rapping). Overall, though, stellar job!

  3. sarahmauer says:

    Really awesome song choices to juxtapose the video you were showing (love love love the xx) – I didn’t before think that rap or indie pop could possibly heighten the political videos that were being shown. I also really like the usage of the television in-between clips. If there were anything I would comment on for improvement, it would just be that it was a little long for a remix video, but since this goes with your independent project, perhaps it is just fine in that context.

  4. bsweeney17 says:

    Your remix looks great and it’s really interesting. I like the choppiness to it too. I’m having a hard time finding things to fix. I guess its a little long, you could trim it down a bit.

  5. jcgilbride says:

    Great transitions between segments – how the screen went grey/fuzzy. I love all of the music you used but I found the audio layering a bit overwhelming at times, maybe try to pull out the speaking audio and fade the music? Such interesting organization of clips and music, it was long but I was captivated the whole time.

  6. dvose says:

    Like Steph mentioned, I wasn’t sure at the beginning if you wanted the music or dialogue to stand out more. Some of the clips are a little drawn out. I love the static between each clip! Lovely effect.

  7. fnha says:

    Really long video. I like the way the music matches the video, and your use of the static transitions makes it feel a little like watching old television. Couldn’t watch all of it though, the connection is choking on the huge file.

  8. Mike D says:

    Dana, great loop + speech overlay. For me, it kept me focused on the purpose of your remix. I also like the noise channel transition. It definitely added well to the choppiness of the video. Maybe the use of a static sound byte would add to the contrast.

  9. jasminerae0420 says:

    Great music choice. I like your choice the do the snowy screen between clips. It makes it clear the contrast and relationship that you are trying to point out. My biggest suggestion would be to chop the time down a little bit. With the range of clips you have, I think you could make it just as interesting even if it was shorter. Great remix!


Leave a Reply

