RXemix

Hey guys –

     Can’t quite make it to a lab to use Dreamweaver to upload the video to my site, so here’s a link to it on Vimeo. Please feel free to post comments, critiques, and recommendations!

http://vimeo.com/40009687

13 Comments on “RXemix”

  1. codirae325 says:

    I really like your topic! You do a good job balancing the humor and seriousness. To improve this, I’d work on the sound quality, because in some spots, the music and clip audio is noticeably louder and really stands out.

  2. sceraso says:

    I totally agree with Codi. I think you point out some damaging drug patterns effectively and humorously. Sound quality is the biggest issue. I think roundtrip audio editing in audacity will work wonders for your video:)

  3. bsweeney17 says:

    I really like how you used both humorous clips and serious clips. I think it would be interesting if you started with the humorous clips and slowly moved into the more serious ones. I doubt you want to rearrange the whole video though so I would just focus on fine tuning the audio.

  4. Dana Layne says:

    I love the way you exponentially build up the music at the end (after you finish showing clips with dialogue). It grows louder to a contrastingly quiet finish: “Drugs are bad kids…” You did a lot in only two minutes, and even the looping music worked, although I did notice the repetition. I definitely liked how you begin the remix referring to it as “medicine” and then end by classifying these prescriptions as “drugs.” I think to some extent, this video is a discussion about the blurred line between those two terms.

  5. fnha says:

    Interesting topic, though I didn’t really get what it was supposed to be about until the side effects were mentioned. I may attribute that to being less familiar with America’s prescription drug system though, so don’t worry about it.
    The repetition of the music was a little jarring though, maybe you could find a spot so that allows it to transition more smoothly, if the original song has spots that allow you to do that.

  6. jcgilbride says:

    Great song choice, I think it worked really well on a loop. And excellent choice of video clips! I guess my only ciritique is that the sound quality could be a little better. Maybe work on fading the video clip audio into the background music. Really good job overall!

  7. digitw1t says:

    I liked it! All I could suggest is that you tweak the sound a bit, but that’s been said.

  8. kcbz13 says:

    I agree with what was said above: great topic, song, clips. Your editing reminded me of “Requiem for a Dream” with the rapid fire cuts and closeups of drugs. The contrast between Heath Ledger’s toxicology report and Mr. Mackey was priceless.

  9. dvose says:

    I love the music, and unlike the others I do not think it is too repetitive. It gives the message you were aiming for. I also loved your video effects (like the 4 in one screens). I would suggest some fading in and out when you get to the audio about side effects– maybe adding some more of that as well, so it is layered with your music for longer.

  10. Mike D says:

    Awesome track. You used it really well to build the intensity of the video. You could fix some of the video size in Premiere, but other than that, cool remix.

  11. jasminerae0420 says:

    You picked the perfect song for this remix lol. It’s very fitting. I would just work on volume a little bit because at some points the music is really low and others really loud so I had to keep adjusting my volume. But I think the overall video was really good. It would be great if you could pick some really extreme side effects to emphasize the point of your video. Nice Remix!


Leave a Reply

